• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Literary Theory and the Writers Who Love It

tlbodine

Troubadour
I waffled over where to post this and whether to post it at all, but I finally decided to just go for it.

I'm an English major at heart, though I graduated six years ago, and some old habits die hard. Recently, I've been feeling supremely lonely in matters of literature. I want nothing better than to sit down with some people and discuss books in an in-depth, analytical sort of way -- looking at them not just in terms of quality or story, but their significance. Sadly, I don't really know many people who enjoy this as much as I do.

I also tend to think about literary theory as part of my writing process, which I don't necessarily see as many people doing. I spend a lot of time working on theme and structure, and I'm interested in innovating and experimenting. Though I am undeniably a writer of speculative fiction, I care about a lot of the so-called "literary fiction" elements, and that makes it kind of hard for me to find a writer's group I fit in with.

So, my question: Are there others out there who miss their Lit classes as much as I do? Are they looking for people to talk to about books? Do they want to find readers or critique partners who are interested in the "literary" aspects of fantasy/sci-fi/horror?

If there's a few of us out there, perhaps we can team up. Form a crit group, a book club, a blog circle, *something* to give us an outlet for this type of analysis. Or if such a thing exists already, somewhere, perhaps someone would be so kind as to point me toward it?

Steerpike

Felis amatus