• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Looking for advice on a writing style.

Will

Scribe
Last night... well, very very late last night/early this morning, whilst fidgeting with a really vague story idea of mine, I happened to stumble upon a pretty random writing style. One which I have never tried before, usually my writing being pretty bland and straightforward. I blame the tiredness at the time. I won't lie, at the time I thought it seemed ok, now however I'm not so sure. I'm tempted to finish a page or two before judging it. I will paste an opening paragraph here, would appreciate some feedback on how it reads? Smooth, hard, not worth the effort? Etc. You'll understand what I mean. Thanks.

The morn began like any other recent. Sun rising in the eastern, moon setting at the western. Devan Blacke, a young man of a sprightly disposition sprung from his resting place, dispelling the last bedtime's sleep from his eyes as he moved. Before facing the day ahead, a quick visit to the family washroom. A scrub of the teeth with paste, consisting of ground charcoal and sage leaves, followed by a scrub of the face, neck and body with washcloth and bucket, half filled with slightly chill fresh water. A glance upon the mirror reassured him that his beard had a couple of days growth left in it before having to worry about smartening. His hair, a different matter entirely. Thick and straggled, the only solution apparent to tie a length of cloth around it, forming a stub ponytail. Dressing in workable duds, his thoughts could now turn hungrily to breakfast.

The chapter/scene would then continue with the young man heading downstairs for breakfast, with a days work on his mind, only to be met with the news he is being drafted into a royal army, of sorts, to his and his family's dismay. Forgive me but the story is very vague right now.

Lawfire

Sage
I would have to see more before passing judgement. So far, it is different, though not unreadable.