• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

My Preliminary Marketing Plan

BWFoster78

Myth Weaver
I’m an engineer, not a marketing guy. That being said, I understand that, as a future self-published author, I am responsible for my success and that marketing is a huge part of the equation to becoming a professional writer. I’m treating my first release as an experiment.

The following is my preliminary marketing plan. I welcome critiques and comments.

Things to do continuously:

Write — The most important thing I can do to become successful is to continue to roll out new products. Each release will sell backlist and give me a new revenue stream.

Produce quality product — I think some high profile successes prove that a quality product isn’t necessarily crucial for success. I do think that an emotionally engaging story is a necessity, but good technique is no surefire path to stardom. That being said, I can’t stomach the thought of putting complete dreck out there. I will also hire professional editing services and a graphic artist.

Things to do far in advance of my release date:

Develop my platform — I’m targeting a June 1, 2013 release date. Sometime near the end of February, I plan to covert my blog (brianwfoster.com | a blog about fiction writing featuring tips, reviews, and critiques) into a better platform that just links to the blog. I do not intend to do much else. I’m just not sure that Twitter is worth the effort. I’m still on the fence about Facebook. On one hand, I don’t think it will be that successful in generating new sales. On the other, I think there’s an expectation that a professional writer has a Facebook page. I can see someone who buys my book looking to Facebook as a way to follow future releases.