• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

My world's history of kings and conquerors may be too ambitious

OnumVeritae

When I think of the landscape I have in my head, I wonder if I'm thinking too big. The mythical land I came up with is called Veritas, basically Ireland turned horizontally. And this place has four provinces (just like Ireland has through most of it's history): Ordnan, Concordia, Marthoum, and Dovari. Each one has it's own history and reason for it's name. To keep it simple, the history of this place is connected to kings and conquerors of several surrounding nations. I'm just wondering if I'm creating a back story that's too big. Since I'm new to writing in this genre, as I am a journalism major, I'm not sure how much depth is expected by readers.

I have a very detailed history going back thousands of years for Veritas, but the histories of the surrounding nations are vague because the story focuses on this one place.

Any suggestions or opinions about how important that is?

Amanita

Maester
I'm just wondering if I'm creating a back story that's too big.
No, you're not.
I wouldn't say that something like that is absolutely necessary but it surely won't hurt. (As long as you don't spend too much time on it rather than on your writing.)
In general my opinion is that the writer's own knowledge about their world can never be too detailed. This doesn't mean that everything can or should be part of the actual story though. Some events might have influenced your nations but will never be mentioned in the story. You know what they were however and therefore you have stringent reasons as to why things are the way they are and this will show. Others might not matter at all but they're still interesting for you and might offer ideas for future stories.

Dan

Scribe
You may need only the most major events from the surrounding nations, and perhaps only events that directly effect your main nation.