• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Naming a Pro Wrestler (NaNoWriMo)

Philip Overby

Staff
Article Team
Not sure how many people know anything about wrestling here. Probably no one. But I'm giving this a shot in the dark.

I decided for my NaNoWriMo this year I want to write a story about the weird (and very fantasy-like) world of professional wrestling. I was an independent wrestler in America for four years before moving to Japan, so I have some background. Also years of reading about and watching wrestling has probably made this the most well-researched book I've attempted.

The book is semi-autobiographical, about a wrestler who has never won a single match in his 25 year career. His goal? To win one match.

So, I want the character to have a really stupid name. Like a name that would never help him win championships or become famous. Any help would be appreciated.

These are names I came up with:

"Nothing But Net" Chett Williams: his character used to play basketball (?)
"Too Bad" Terry Tanner: sounds sort of pathetic, but could also reflect that it's "too bad" for his opponent
Otter Ottendorf: named because his last name is similar to otter
Capybara Connely: the idea is that he thought he was naming himself some fearsome, but really
Greg "the Grinder" Gurley: because a grinder is sandwich too, it's sort of silly

Any other names are welcome? By the way, my wrestling name was Phil the Drill...:D

Philip Overby

Staff
Article Team
I like that name. I have tons and tons of wrestlers in my story already. Do you mind if I use this one or a variation?

Ophiucha

Auror