• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Naming worlds and the like

Cheshyr

I'm pretty new to fantasy writing, having only just decided to really actively pursue it, so sorry if this is a stupid question...

How do authors generally go about naming planets? The story I am working on involves a world with seven moons, and requires names for both the world and the moons. I did some research on the names of planets and moons in the Milky Way (so pretty much all the Greek ad Roman names), so should I just look up other Greek and Roman names? I'm sure there's not a simple or singular answer to this, but I'm a bit lost as to where to begin. Any advice on places to start would be super appreciated!

Johnny Cosmo

Inkling
You might be interested in this thread. Perhaps the names of the moons could be derived from the deities and mythic figures of your own world (if there are any).

Edit: Check out the 5th post in particular.

Last edited:
I'm pretty new to fantasy writing, having only just decided to really actively pursue it, so sorry if this is a stupid question...

How do authors generally go about naming planets? The story I am working on involves a world with seven moons, and requires names for both the world and the moons. I did some research on the names of planets and moons in the Milky Way (so pretty much all the Greek ad Roman names), so should I just look up other Greek and Roman names? I'm sure there's not a simple or singular answer to this, but I'm a bit lost as to where to begin. Any advice on places to start would be super appreciated!

How does the race(s) on the planet feel about the moons if they are heavenly bodies full of mytersty then I would go with deity or exotic names like Grey Watcher, Bookai the cracked Moon. Otherwise they probably have mundane names (we have no special name for our moon)

If there is a strong cultural, religious or magical connection to the moons then they would probably have significant names.