• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Need advice

I submitted a manuscript query to Penguin five months ago. They said to allow five months for a reply. This is their sci-fi imprint's website, which is where I got the directions from.

Submission - Science Fiction and Fantasy - Penguin Group (USA)

I have not heard back from them. Granted, all I was expected was a rejection letter anyway, but now I'm wondering whether I should resubmit, query a different publisher, or just what.

Any ideas from those brave souls who have navigated these stormy seas before?

Penpilot

Staff
Article Team
I'm not really experienced in this, but from what I've heard others say, here's what you can do. Wait another month, then send them a query about your submission, inquiring about it's status. Depending on how you want to play it, in the query you can state that you wish to withdraw your submission if they haven't gotten to it yet. Or you can wait for a reply, and if you don't get one after a second month, just send them a letter withdrawing your manuscript then submit to another market. I know this is a lot of waiting, but it's really frowned upon if send it to another market and both end up wanting to buy it. Slim as it may be, it could give you a bad rep.

A. E. Lowan

Forum Mom
Leadership
Ok, question #1 - I know you're asking if you can, but there are those who feel it's better to apologize than to ask permission, so I'm asking - did you make sure to only submit to one publisher at a time. (These are dangerous waters that have sunk many a writer on their hidden reefs.) Publishing imprints are very often under the umbrella of one publishing house, and may only be doors, if not desks away from each other. My own mother went down with that ship - that's why you never hear me throw her name around.