• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

New sparks in the fire...

Dreamhand

Troubadour
My name is Dave Robison... aka “Dreamhand”. After prancing all over the forums for the last few days, it seems like the courteous thing to do would be to introduce myself to my new Mythic Scribe brethren (and sisteren...?).

I started writing adaptations of “Curious George” stories on my mother’s Smith-Corona typewriter when I was eight or nine years old. Forty years later, I’m still utterly smitten by tales and stories, both hearing them and telling them.

When I went to college, I got a theater degree in order to pursue the possibility of telling stories for fun and profit. It was certainly fun, but the profit was a more challenging prospect. Destitute and frantic to secure a more marketable skill set, I returned to college and secured something resembling a graphic design degree (art being just another form of storytelling). This led to jobs in small print shops in the late 80’s, just as they were switching to those new computer things (anyone remember the Mac SE-30?).

I was young and eager so I learned the language of digital magic and — over the decades — have skipped, tripped and stumbled my way into a position as a web applications developer.

But the stories are always there... in movie theaters (LOVE movies in movie theaters), in books (e-books, paper books, who CARES?), and (lately) in my iPad.

A few years back, my wife and I realized that the digital age had made audio production a breeze, so we created a non-profit radio theater company. In three years we produced over 40 hours of original episodic audio drama gold and engaged over 200 volunteers in every aspect of the process, from writing, to directing, to post production. Burn-out was high, however (it was like having two jobs but only one of them paid), and we had to step away in the name of sanity and our marriage.