• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Not a flock of birds

skip.knox

toujours gai, archie
I'm struggling to find a name for a group of birds as kept by a noble.

Baron Knox has a kennel of dogs and a stable of horses, what's the name for his hunting falcons? And is there a title for his keeper of the hawks? Birdmaster just sounds silly.

Bonus points: what's the title of the keeper of the dogs? Of the horses?

Demesnedenoir

Myth Weaver
Terms that tend to crop up are stable-master and kennel-master, and I’m sure there are non-english terms that pretty much mean those things. For falconry and hawking? If you followed the naming convention, hawks/falcons would be housed in “mews” so one could be a mews-master. It’s been a long time since I studied up on falconry, but I really don’t recall a specific term for such a thing outside of falconer/hawker, but of course, hawker has other implications. Some could depend on the specific role of the person: if training, raising, etc., they could be the falconer, the king’s falconer, while someone who tends the day to day feeding, cleaning, and care of the birds and facilities could easily be called mews-master.

Horses, the Marshal would be the important head of the stables, I believe.

skip.knox

toujours gai, archie
Mews helps. Amewsingly.

My MC has his falconer along for much of the story, so I'm looking for something a little more compact than Royal Falconer. I'll keep this open, but I may ask over on mediev-l. Those people know *everything*!

Yeah "mews" is the term. And "falconer" seems to be the name of the trainer/keeper.

Interesting little page, not sure how accurate, here: Medieval Hawking

It seems that types of bird might have been restricted according to social status? Not sure of the exact when/where this applied, but considering similar restrictions for clothing and weaponry, etc., I wouldn't be surprised.