• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Online creative writing course, worth it?

Rho

Dreamer
Hi, I was wondering if I could have people's feed back and opinions about doing an online creative writing course through the open polytechnic of New Zealand.
I just feel I need to learn some basic writing skills and would rather get them through a course like this rather than try and nut it out by myself and possibly (probably) lose focus and heart and give up.
The first level is not cheap but seems to offer a full, well rounded schedule.
As a dairy farmer my time is very limited and over calving time I'd basically have zero time to spend on writing and even the course for that matter, so I want to make my time count and get it right the first time.
Any opinions? dumb idea? waste of money? Any feed back would be much appreciated thanks. :)

Last edited:

CupofJoe

Myth Weaver
I did an entry level online course through the OU here in the UK and found it highly useful and quite a lot of fun. They run a more advanced course I hope to get on to later this year. There was a good mix of practical exercises, discussions and debates. there was even an assignment or three to give you that "deadline" feeling...
Yes - time is a problem on every course I've ever done but I think that courses like these are a good way to get practice and feed back on the basics.

T.Allen.Smith

Staff
You can learn basic writing skills through books on writing and save yourself a ton of money. Additionally, you can learn from books when you're able, without having to be concerned with class schedules. Writer's Digest offers a series of great books on honing the craft of writing. There are many others but, in my opinion, these books are a great place to start and gain exposure to the basics. This is an excellent way to form the foundation you'll need to really learn by doing.