• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Pitching a trilogy to publishers with the first book or whole story outline?

Swordfry

Troubadour
This seems like a very easy question to answer, but one I do not know because I am completely new to the publishing world.

When pitching a trilogy to potential publishers, how do you present it to them? With just the first book, see if it works, then move on, taking them one at a time? Or presenting the story and outline for the whole trilogy?

X Equestris

Maester
I don't have any experience or anything to speak from, but to me it seems like having your first story completely written and having the rest of the trilogy outlined would be the best course of action. You need the first story written to show them that you can write an engaging work, and you need the outline so that they 1) know what they're buying and 2) know that you have a plan. You don't want to be on your third book in the trilogy and suddenly realize that you have no clue how to end the conflict without resorting to a deus ex machina, for example.

acapes

Sage
Hey Swordfry,

I pitched a detailed synopsis for my first book with much shorter outlines for book 2 and 3, so the publisher could see that I had at least a clear idea of how the story would end.

Don't know how much it helped, but I have a contract so it might have been a minor factor (maybe). It's so hard to tell what publishers want and what phrasing will work.

Swordfry

Troubadour
Cool.

So publishers will accept just pitched summaries of a work, not a completed draft, even from a brand new author?

I would imagine publishers would only accept an outline pitch from an author with an existing contract or proven track record of sales (or if they have invited such a thing). Otherwise, I'm with X Equestris: full polished text of book one, and reasonably detailed outline of the rest of the series.