• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Second guessing yourself?

CTStanley

Scribe
Hi!

I'm pretty new to the writing side of fiction having been far to engrossed in reading the epics for the last 15 years or so. I have wanted to write for years but every time I start I begin to scrutinise my writing style to the point I exasperate myself! I've read multiple books on writing, I've studied books by my favourite authors who write in a multitude of styles, I've outlines my whole novel, have characters with back stories, conflicts, motivations. But when it comes to actually writing I just don't know if it's up to par...

Here's a small excerpt from within the first chapter, can anyone help to give some pointers. I kind of like the way I write, but not sure if it lacks depth/description.

Thanks in advance.

The loud trumpeting of horns woke Eliska from a fitful sleep. A groan escaped her lips as she focused on the intrusive noise. Horns. Why would there be horns? The army. That thought hit her hard, as she leapt out of the small bed. The Kings Army never brought good news. Eli dragged on an old tunic and some worn leggings, pulling her boots on roughly. Dragging her fingers through the tangles in her hair she drew it into a long braid. Taking the rickety stairs two at a time, she burst out the front door into the bright morning.