• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Some personal realizations

Svrtnsse

Staff
Article Team
When I started writing my novel my idea was to write an outline and then follow that write the novel. I'd proofread it and check for grammar and spelling errors and then I'd publish it. Easy as that.
I had no thoughts about going over it a second time or making changes. After all, I had planned everything that should happen and I'm an awesomely talented writer so why would I need to change anything? It would be fine as it was.

Then I heard about drafts.
Okay, so maybe once I've written the story I'll call it my first draft and then I'll go through it and tweak it a little, tighten up the language and such. Should be good. There may be some parts that aren't as good as they could be.

Then I learned about tension.
This turned things on their heads a bit. Would it be possible that people didn't find my writing appeal or interesting enough as it was? I mean, to me it was pretty interesting, at least for the most part. Then again, I'm such a talented writer people would probably read it anyway. No? Maybe not.
Perhaps I should go through things a second time to review my scenes and make sure they're interesting. This thing with drafts may not be such a bad idea after all. I'll get to it later.

Then last night as I lay waiting to fall asleep it finally clicked. I was thinking about the scene I'm working on and how well it worked out with some of the things I madce up for it and included in it. Some of the pieces I'd been wondering about finally fit together. I also thought back on how this would affect earlier scenes and I realized that the knowledge I'd gotten from writing this most recent scene would really help in improving another part much earlier on.
I think that's when I finally got it. I've heard and read about it here for quite a while but it's not until just now I finally understand myself.