• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Star Trek: Into Darkness

LadyCass

Scribe
Ok, complete newbie here. But I couldn't find the star trek thread... found one from before it opened. Perhaps I'm the only person who likes Star Trek around these parts. By some chance I'm not... thought I would throw at a thread. :)

I was raised on Star Trek and so am a long time fan. But I simply can't get over the writing! It's really amazing what they've done. They've taken the characters that already have a huge following and great core and found a way to rewrite the old stories. They can keep a ton of the old stuff that fans will want while speeding it up with more action and a fast pace to attract new fans.

I've always felt that Star Trek had great characters but crap story lines and action pace. Star Wars had great action pace but crap characters. I feel we're getting the best of both worlds. I just can't stand the waiting years in between films!

Does anyone know how many they are suppose to do?

The Construct

Minstrel
I don't know how many they're doing, but I just wanted to agree with you that yes, Star Trek is awesome. I saw Into Darkness the day it came out and I can't wait until the next one which I don't even know anything about! I'm also a fan of the serieses(plural of series?) and have seen most of the episodes and the original movies. But the more recent movies surpass them in my opinion.

kayd_mon

Sage
I also grew up watching Star Trek (Next Generation and reruns of Original Series). I've seen all the movies, most of them a few times.

The new films are excellent. I love that they just call it a parallel timeline and have the "real" Spock as the bridge between the continuities. It makes it ok that they made all these changes.