• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Story swap?

Smaug

Dreamer
Hi all,

I have written a story that is perhaps too long for this forum: 12k words. However, I would dearly like some feedback, particularly about the writing style as I am fairly new to writing.

Understanding that 12k words is a significant time investment, I would be very happy to do a story swap: if you have a piece of writing of a similar length that you would like feedback on, then I'll spend some time on it and give you some detailed comments.

1-line synopsis: adventure tale set in mythical Ancient Greece, which also serves as a prologue to my novel.

Leave me message on here or send me a PM if you are interested!

Many thanks,

Smaug

Chilari

Staff
I'm interested. I love ancient Greece. In fact, I'm doing a masters degree in it.

I don't have anything of a similar length I require feedback on at the moment, but I probably will by the end of the week as I have just started on something.

I should warn you though, I won't have a huge amount of spare time until early June, at which point I won't have a huge amount of internet access; but I can print off what you send and read it while I'm on holiday and give feedback when I return, if you don't mind waiting til about June 10th or 11th.

balthore

Scribe
I'm always up for reading something new by another writer. Shoot me a PM and we can arrange an exchange or something like it.

Smaug

Dreamer
Success! Thank you both - PMs sent. If anyone else is interested, let me know.

Artless

Minstrel
I don't have anything to trade, but I'm a HUGE fan of classical ancient history, and always willing to read something set in ancient Greece/Rome.
I have a reasonable amount of knowledge of the period, and non-fiction texts to draw further information from if need be.
I'd be more than happy to read your work :)

Behelit

Troubadour