• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

The Narrative Debacle I face

Centinuus

Scribe
Firstly i would like to apologize if any of my ramblings in this are not to the standard of this lovely community, ive only just joined as of about an hour ago and am quite eager to become associated with fellow fantasy literature enthusiast, but i am alas unfamiliar with the etiquette or regular proceedings for how to form a topic people will be interested in discussing.
with that out of the way i wish to raise a question i find myself grappling with often when attempting to write stories around my fictional Mythos of Aphal ive been developing for about 6 years now, namely narrative.
now i am a terribly flawed author in that i lack the patience to sit and write for more than an hour or so without growing weary or doubtful if what im writing is going in the right direction, and as such most of my stories have been extremely short for my taste, but even in all my failed attempts to put the world of Aphal to the page, ive continued to develop its timeline, until now, i have a whirling cascade of thousands of years of history which have followed several key crisis and conflicts, and never quite focused on any one particular story in which i think i could focus on for long enough to write anything. in some cases ive considered accounting Aphal's history in a sort of referential text such as a history book format, or a descriptive gallery of the wonders of my world, but i find myself wishing i could assign a clear narrative to it all. its to the point where almost every tale of Aphal is related in some way or another, but they span such a long and detailed history i find it nigh impossible to recount the tales through a relatable human perspective.