• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Villain Plans

“Here comes a giant wall of text!
Okay, so I was looking at the most recent article on Mythcreants about characters going against the flow, and I got thinking, so what about when the character in question is a villain? It is, naturally, quite difficult for many writers to make the villain's perspective balance the hero's perspective without going too far in either direction.
I've never written a villain before [the earliest drafts of my first book back when I was a lot younger not withstanding], and I'm trying to be careful about it, but a part of me thinks it isn't working in my latest book.

Specifically, the villain is one of those people who has bad experience after bad experience with only tiny bits of relief throughout his life. As a result of that, he basically wants to lash out at the universe and wants to know if there's a point to anything.
He thinks that the main character [who, by the way, is a celestial, timeless being and the anthropomorphic personification of dreams and imagination] is manipulative and emotionally distant to the point of being apathetic, and I made it so that the main character's story is told through other character's viewpoints that neither confirm nor deny the villain's perspective, with little hints that could go either way.
The villain thinks that removing the main character entirely from the universe will make things better for everyone, disregarding the fact that doing so would be like removing the sun to try to stop global warming.

I'm also trying to make the villain threatening while the overall story is supposed to be comedic, so to say that I'm juggling a lot at once is a massive, massive understatement.

I was looking at the article on villain master plans, and decided to fill it out.

1. What’s Stopping Them From Carrying It Out?