• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Wax Poetic with me, friends

Caged Maiden

Staff
Article Team
(I call them 'I am a writer-isms')

Okay, maybe it isn't really poetic. Still, tell me about your adventures as a writer. Here's the format:

Write what your characters have done, as though it were YOU doing it. Just a few lines. Then, at the end, write I am a writer. Share your adventure with me!

I played chess with a madman, made love with a werewolf, and was an airship navigator before I was old enough to shave. I am a writer.

Let's collect "thanks" for folks who participate!

Ireth

Myth Weaver
Going through this story by story...

I fought an evil prince, befriended a kindly princess, fled a loveless engagement to return to my family, and helped save a dying king to earn my freedom. I am a writer. (Winter's Queen)

I survived six years of abuse, wove tapestries that came to life, found freedom in a den of werewolves and fell in love with an alchemist. I am a writer. (Bellringer)

I united enemy peoples and courts against a greater threat, sought and found redemption and forgiveness, and lost my hand and my home fighting for what I believe in. I am a writer. (Tenth Realm)

I drowned a man and brought him back to life, journeyed through unknown seas, and stole from a selfish queen to save my cousin. I am a writer. (Song of the Sea)

I became a host for my murdered sister's soul, sought help from mages to free her, and ruined her killer's attempt to take her from me for good. I am a writer. (My Soul to Keep)

I rose from the grave as a vampire, befriended ghosts and humans alike, saved my father from the Lord of all vampires and fell in love with my friend and mentor. I am a writer. (Low Road)

Last edited:

skip.knox

toujours gai, archie
I was exiled by my people as a witch, though I have no magic. I fought the goblin Horde beneath the walls of Constantinople and killed the Gniva with my ever-white sword. I am a writer.

ThinkerX