• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

World Building Must Have's/Must Do's

TowieS1

Acolyte
Hey everyone,

I am new to using forums and such. I tried to have a quick look around the older threads to see if I could find anything, but I couldn't see anything that was what I was looking for.

My question(s) for you is, do you have any Must Have's in your worlds? (There must be a blank for the world to be more realistic) or are there any Must Do's during your process of creating your own worlds?

I realise that this would depend drastically on the person and book to book... I'm just looking to be pointed in the right direction.

Simply, any advice would be much appreciated.

Queshire

Auror
Look for what you need first and branch out from that as necessary. You don't need to be Tolkein. You don't need to know absolutely everything about the world. It's better to try to make it just feel lived in.

Mad Swede

Auror