• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Writing Characters

BJ Swabb

Sage
Hiya!!!

So I've been writing my novel series for almost four years now, and I am sill bringing characters into the series. Is having a lot of characters in one volume to much or do you perfer having many characters? I attend to run across at the least 30 to 40 characters in one volume. All who the protagonist runs into through his journey. He also runs into many different creatures as well (most in which he must face in a challenge or fight).

What are your thoughts on this?

Also I have gotten into recreating characters into a unique new way. I would like to involve as many classic characters form old classics that are freely avalible to use without copyrights, but I have a pile of other characters that I have gotten approved to use as well. If you were writing a mythical land full of dragon riders, beast tamer, thieves, spellcasters, rangers and much more, what classic character would you like to involve in a series and how would you recreate them and make them part of the journey?

ThinkerX

Myth Weaver
Large numbers of characters is a good way to confuse the reader, especially if -

1 - many of them are interchangeable - aka all warriors in the same company or some such, and

2 - they have complex names.

I like to write in quasi-historical worlds, either in real life or fantasy worlds, so I like to pay homage to those classic tropes such as:

Maiden
Witch
Wise woman
Warlock
Priest
Nun
Knight
Thief
Mage / mage in training
Earl / Lord / landowner
King and Queens
Wanderer
Step-family member
Peasant
Shopkeeper / innkeeper
Tradesmen
Farmer
Wizard
Master of the dark arts
Seer
Healer
Warrior

A E Lowan, where is that medieval character sheet you posted?? 😄

I don’t know if that’s what you’re getting at but I like including those tropes into my own stories.

pmmg

Myth Weaver