• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Writing Poetry: Resources?

C

Chessie

Do any of you here write poetry or toy with it ocassionally? I'd like to create short poems to slide in between chapters for a WIP and need all the help I can get. I'm not good with poetry but I really love this idea and am ready to suffer for it lol. If anyone has resources or tips they've found useful for this I'd super appreciate it!

I have written...some poetry. All I can really say is to read lots of it and figure out what you really really like in poetry because honestly it's so varied. narrowing things down is the first step. Do you like a lot of structure or almost no structure? Rhyming or no rhyming? Do you like strong imagery or the music of the words themselves more? Then you can search for advice in more specific terms.

If you are ready to suffer for it....heh, well, it probably will require suffering, so that's good.

I studied poetry informally for about a decade, and while I focused on the basics and many advanced areas and feel myself to be reasonably familiar with all I'd need to know, whenever I contemplate inserting poetry into fiction I'm suddenly filled with terror. A poem might be a smallish thing, but the moment you highlight it by placing it so prominently, all eyes will be focused on it. And its goodness or badness will affect reader appreciation of the whole work.

I don't want to dissuade you. I think it's a great idea. But as Dragon mentioned, poetry is so varied, has so many different approaches, it's not something that can be mastered quickly or easily if quality is a major concern. (I speak from experience. Having the basics and understanding even the advanced elements/considerations....well, that's no guarantee of quality in the final product. There still comes the necessity of distilling ideas, themes, and so forth into a compact form—and this is where the rubber meets the road.)