• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Feelings of Failure

One of my biggest obstacles when attempting to write is my sense of failure. I have a fear of failure that when combined with my anxiety often keeps me from going out and accomplishing my goals in life. One of my goals im life is to share my stories with an audience. I think I'm very good at creating characters and story ideas and it's one of my very few talents. I have a very good imagination. However, I feel like I can't write. My writing skills are bad, I word things oddly, I change tenses all the time without realizing, I explain too much, I don't give enough detail. These are things that go through my head when I try to write and things I catch when rereading my work. I often feel like I'm going to fail as a writer and it keeps me from trying to write. Does anyone else ever feel the same way?

T.Allen.Smith

Staff
I used to feel that way all the time. As a beginning writer my ideas overshot my ability to execute by a wide margin. That, and a natural fear of my inability to write eloquently, made being a writer seem like a monumental task.

Eventually though, I decided to do something about it. I read a ton of books on craft (still do). Worked writing exercises I found online. I watched YouTube videos on writing craft (An excellent channel to start with is Brandon Sanderson's channel Write About Dragons).

Once I started digging into craft fundamentals and experimenting with different techniques, I learned just how much I didn't know. Still, slowly but surely, I added tools to my toolbox. I'm still learning new methods all the time, even though I feel like I'm a good writer now. But that's not enough. I want to be great.

You just have to decide if you truly want to be a writer, enough to do the years of hard work it'll take. If you do, then buckle down. Become a student of your craft. To be a pro, you must work like a pro.