• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Cover for The Messenger's Quest

kinslayeur

Scribe
The_Messenger_s_Quest_Front_smaller_version.jpg

Would like your thoughts on this. Goal is to publish towards the end of the year.

My first quick impression is that it looks great. Image fits the title very well.

I'm not an expert on book covers, so take this with a grain of salt. Something about the author's name seems off, maybe font, spacing, placement, or size...I don't know. (For placement, maybe moved up just the smallest amount?) The space between "Th" and "e" in the book's title kinda stands out also.

kinslayeur

Scribe
the space on "The" is actually the font which was weird. Tried about 20 other fonts and they didn't look much better. The Author and the subtitle are the same font. I didn't want too go too high on the Author name to get it into the bleed section of the cover when it is created on a book. I think I'll keep playing with the font for the main title which is all one font. I just didn't find another "Q" I liked in another font. Thank you for the suggestions and for looking!

skip.knox

toujours gai, archie
What you need is a properly kerned font. Failing that, you could put the "Th" as one text element, and the "e" in a second, then move it over by hand until it looked right.

C

Chessie

I love it. The is a bit hard to read but that's subjective. In the end, the best​ thing to do is compare your cover to others in the sub-genre of fantasy you're targeting. Does it match reader expectations for that audience? That's what I'd focus on.

Hi,

For me the background is a little busy. On the one side you have this sun shining down through a forest on a cliff, and on the other a fog and dead tree, and the two don't go together well. They don't seem to be either one image or two.