• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

My Art

cydare

Minstrel
It's been three years since I started drawing again. Though I've still got a long way to go, I've finally reached a stage where I don't mind sharing my work.

tumblr_odxd4pNWgH1uozok4o4_r1_540.png

This is Lady Loveday in her early twenties. She's an important side character in the current novel I'm working on.

tumblr_odxd4pNWgH1uozok4o3_540.png

These two are Thaddeus and Amun, my WIP's main characters.

tumblr_odxd4pNWgH1uozok4o2_540.jpg

This is a traditional sketch, where I'm trying my hand at an even more cartoony style. Thaddeus again, in female form (top) and male form (bottom).

I've recently started drawing some more proper concept art for the novel I'm working on. Clothing, architecture, various scenes. I might post some of those up here too.

Very cool! I really liked that pin-up. If I could, I would recommend paying more attention to the light.
You can decide a light source and then lit the whole scene/people/stuff according to that light. It would add more depth and believability to the art. And you can play with light and shadow to change the mood, add drama and direct the eye of the viewer---that's most important. To make them see what you want them to focus on.
And light plays an important role in that. Other than composition and lines.

Great work, keep it up, you'll be awesome! :)

I paint and write stories at: TheGrimBook.com

Nimue

Auror
Aaaa, fantastic! I love your dreamy colors, and the detail of the costumes--clothing design is always something I've been rubbish at. Please, share more when you have it!

cydare

Minstrel
Thank you RupamGrimoeuvre! It's good advice. I definitely need to pull up some tutorials and references when it comes to lighting, because it's currently not anywhere near the front of my skillset. Your art looks lovely! I'll have to go through and read some of the stories too when I get the time.