• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Writing for fun and profit

arizela

Hello, folks.

I'm Arizela but most of my online friends call me Ari. I write fiction for fun (predominantly grimdark fantasy in alternate earth settings), and science for a living. My fiction is character-driven with dark themes, often focusing on the fantasy equivalents of real-world problems like addiction, sexuality, and gender inequality. I have been honing my craft and writing novels for 13 years, but have not published.

I saw a thread on this board asking for honesty about why we haven't published, so here's my story. Really, it comes down to two factors for me. First is a split focus - as much as I love writing fiction, I really have chosen to put my scientific writing and career first. My scientific work focuses on the intersection between human health, social environments, and genetics. I have been published in multiple medical and nursing journals and continue to be active in research and teaching in those fields. Secondly, I suffer from a rare genetic disorder that is sometimes well-controlled and sometimes flares up to leave me profoundly disabled for anywhere from days to years at a time. Despite this limitation, I manage to be productive more often than not, but it does limit my ability to commit simultaneously to multiple high-intensity endeavors, say being a fiction author and a scientist.

It is likely that my health and science will continue to take center stage for a long time, but I am committed to honing the craft of writing and continuing to develop stories that may end up in print someday. On a personal note, I adore superhero movies and British television. I have a husband, son, three dogs, and a slight yarn hording problem. My knitting circle says hello!

Ronald T.

Troubadour