• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Getting published - how do I even...

Hello,

My name is Vincent Lakes and I'm a writer. I'm writing low fantasy with magic bound to letters and words, so no dragons or krakens roaring in my story. It's about this abused young child of a nobleman, who is forced to marry a man she dislikes. As a means to counter her lack of complete control over her self, she will begin to find other ways to get that. Eventually she murders someone. The story becomes more complicated with the main protagonist getting pregnant and then fighting against the odds to keep the baby, for her parents would definitely want to get rid of her. It's a story about hopes and dreams, and how they're crushed in an instant to secure better trade agreements with neighboring counties. Slowly the main protagonist delves deeper into darkness, finding solace only from blood - finding absolute control when she's torturing her victim. But she is caught as she makes the one grave mistake of taking a life of another noble lady. This is something even her nobility cannot protect fer from.

I'm proofreading and editing my story at the moment, and I've grown to realize that this story may have what it takes to battle itself out into the public eye. But where do you start? Where do you find agents that are interested in this type of a novel, and furthermore, where do you find that publisher who is willing to invest into you, so that you can live the dream. I understand it may never happen, but where should I even begin? This is the one thing I'm hopelessly lost.

skip.knox

toujours gai, archie
Prepare yourself, it's going to take a ton of work, especially the first time out of the gate. There are a number of lists of agents out there. Just do a search on "literary agent fantasy" and also "fantasy book publishers". Compiling a list of possibilities is a matter of a few hours' work, but that's when the real work starts.