• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Publishing In a Box?

VenomWars

Brand new here, so let me first say this is an amazing site and I'm so glad to have stumbled upon it!! I have been working on a manuscript for years and now I'm at the point to finally take the big step to have it published and take on the steps of promotion, etc.

As I'm new to this, I have been looking for resources to help with Cover Design and everything that goes into Publishing. I came across this company and already had a great conversation with them: Publishing In A BoxHome Page | Publishing In A Box Basically they take on everything for $6K.

I was curious, has anyone heard of them or worked with them? Obviously their niche is more non-fiction (their other business is Book in Box, where they actually write the book and do all the publishing), but since I have the manuscript, I figure as long as the cover design is top notch all of these other services will be great as well!

I'd love to get any feedback. I will definitely be coming back more and more for the expert opinions I've been reading through so many threads. My book is fantasy, targeted at the young teen group. Thank you in advance.

Devor

Fiery Keeper of the Hat
I haven't heard of this one before, but there's a few of these kinds of sites going around.

You can get quality cover art, editing, and the rest for about $1k just by finding people on freelance sites. Hypothetically, you could find one company to provide all of these services, but I can't imagine how they get to a number of $6K.

Yes, you could spend thousands just on Cover Art. But don't. Books can become best sellers with simple covers. Quality doesn't equal complexity. The price difference is between finding someone to manipulate stock art and commissioning a massive painting. The end result can be beautiful either way.