• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Full Recipe for an Alternate Composite Bow

Back home, the recipe for the composite bow is as follows:

• Horn (usually water buffalo, gemsbok, oryx and ibex)
  • Wood (usually mulberry and spruce because bamboo is a GRASS, not a woody plant)
  • Sinew (usually from the hindquarters of wild deer or domestic hooved mammals)
  • Glue (usually hide glue or gas bladders from fish)

In this alternate Earth, the recipe for the composite bow is as follows:

• Either rhino horn or deer antler
  • Bamboo
  • Ivory
  • Heartwood
  • Yew sapwood
  • Deer, camel or bison leather
  • Sinew from the hindquarters of deer, camel or bison
  • Horse glue

So with this recipe, how would the alternate composite bow compare with ours? More powerful? Less powerful? Or as powerful? Would the materials even stick well together?

pmmg

Myth Weaver
Uhh...I have no strong opinion or knowledge of this. I suspect it would be mostly the same, or whatever extra power it could produce would not significantly make it a better or worse bow. However, I hesitate, cause I can only guess at the materials and how they would work with each other. I think the question I might ask is, as these materials are all available today, why has nobody else put together a bow of this type using them? and that would lead me to think they end up being less than ideal for this role.

Some questions I would need answered though, is a rhino more brittle or possess some quality that a water buffalo horn does not? If so, it might not be a good material for this. I know they make longbows our of Yew, but I am not sure if they make Composite bows with it. That might be because yew is not a good material unless it is of a certain length, or perhaps it cannot be significantly improved by adding other composite materials over just using Yew all the way through.