• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Ask Me About Martial Arts

Aurelian

Scribe
I'm a Martial Artist more accurately a Karateka. I've been practicing for a good amount of time now in Karate but I have some minor training in Aikedo and Jujistsu and some Tai CHi.

I'm fairly well read on most Martial including modern day and Old traditional styles. I also like to read some of the old Legends of Karate.So ask me a question if I know it I'll answer you. If I don't know I'll do some research and give you my best answer.

Here's a question:

Are kicks actually used in real combat martial arts? That is, I've heard that it's just too risky to kick at any target above the knee, at least against a trained opponent, because getting your leg grabbed is just too dangerous.

If so, that makes it the first Hollywood martial arts image real writers need to get out of their heads.

Kit

Maester
The best time to use a use a kick is when your Bad Guy is on the ground.

Just kidding.

Sort of.

Taking out your opponent's knee gives you a great advantage- harder for him to fight you, harder for him to chase you. Once he's down, you can run (which should always be your first plan anyway)

Throws and other takedowns (another item that looks cool on the movie screen but is a lot harder to pull off in real life) can become a better possibility if you first attack the leg to compromise the Bad Guy's balance... one of my former teachers referred to this as "tenderizing" the foe preparatory for the throw. Strike/kick combos and kick/kick combos can be effective as well. One particular former classmate of mine used to get me every damn time with a simultaneous right-punch-left-kick (or vice versa). You see that punch coming in and get very distracted, are already moving to deal with it before you notice the kick sneaking in underneath (if you *ever* notice it, before it hits you).