• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Worldbuilding to The Max

Hey!

I am really new at worldbuilding and writing novels. I want to try my hand, but first I came up with a plan, and here it is:

First, come up with everything, detail it on paper in a roughly organized mess, then transfer it into a text-book-esque deal and that way I could reference a literal history book of my world whenever I'm writing. The only problem; I want to get a novel at least drafted before I go into the Naval Academy, and if I do this and it takes me into my senior year of high school - I'm currently a Junior - then I don't know that I'll reach my goal. Is there any better way to go about keeping everything organized for a busy high school student when trying to write a fantasy series? Yes, I have a bit of an obsession with worldbuilding so writing the full history out in a textbook format is not a problem for me!

Hey!

I am really new at worldbuilding and writing novels. I want to try my hand, but first I came up with a plan, and here it is:

First, come up with everything, detail it on paper in a roughly organized mess, then transfer it into a text-book-esque deal and that way I could reference a literal history book of my world whenever I'm writing. The only problem; I want to get a novel at least drafted before I go into the Naval Academy, and if I do this and it takes me into my senior year of high school - I'm currently a Junior - then I don't know that I'll reach my goal. Is there any better way to go about keeping everything organized for a busy high school student when trying to write a fantasy series? Yes, I have a bit of an obsession with worldbuilding so writing the full history out in a textbook format is not a problem for me!

Hello, fellow junior in high school...