• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

How do you create your own planet?

I'm creating my own planet for my Epic Fantasy but I've never done anything like this before. Normally I write short novella's that are an alternative history type thing based on earth. I wanted to try something new but this is more difficult than I thought.

I did some research and found to work sheets to get me started and I realized half the questions I couldn't answer. Like "how many moon's does your planet have?" - well I have no idea. I don't even know how having two or more moons would affect/change a planet.

The idea for my planet is: It was an Ocean planet, so all the activity happened under the sea. Land began to appear in the form of a super continent. And some of the ocean creatures slowly began to venture onto the land but it's largely untouched when my human settlers find the planet. Humans were forced to leave the planet they inhabited and using portals came upon this one that seemed desolate. They bring magic with them and start to harvest the land.

I'm not sure if having so my ocean would change the planet from earth. Or if having one large super continent would change the climate.

As you can see this is a topic I know very little about and I wasn't that good at science in school. Can anyone help me get started? I obviously need to learn about building my planet and everything involved I just don't know where to begin really.

Thanks guys

Last edited:

Ban

Troglodytic Trouvère
Article Team