• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

The evolution of society and govt.

Ifritus

Dreamer
Hi there fellow scribes,
Another question or two to the collective.

So, following the headscratching I've done over the past week... I've hit a couple snags through knowledge gaps, and lack of a Google fu black belt

1: following the evolution of society and a governing body... how gradual was the decline from Religion over Law?
In the sense of everything was fine so long as you were devout? Then nope, you can be devout but the deplorable actions are not allowed?

In this sense I'd actually appreciate homework as well as opinions? Since I'm rather new to the google searching required for writing research.

I mean was that the case back in the day? Was religious law above the local law?

2: would anyone care to offer their opinion on the best ruling body that would suit an empire with magic, but mid 1800 tech? (Exact period being the implementation of firearm cartridges over percussion cap muzzle loaders)

The scenario being the Gods exist but worship of the Collective as a whole has slowly declined in favour of increasing Tech (thus the God of Wisdom & Judgement is the strongest worshipped at the time of the WIP)

With the added fact that most Magic isn't that flashy?

And how would a Civ change over say 50 years of suddenly having NO magic (well the Priests still have theirs) but the whole idea is than magic users earned the Wrath of the gods (making one manifest in the physical plane to pass judgment) so Former Sorcs are dehumanised quite a bit... how would they react to no longer being able to do magic?

I would appreciate folks thoughts... or even their advice on research to read up on?

elemtilas

Inkling
Hi there fellow scribes,
Another question or two to the collective.

So, following the headscratching I've done over the past week... I've hit a couple snags through knowledge gaps, and lack of a Google fu black belt