• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Co-Writer problems...???

Lumani

Minstrel
So, this is an on going problem for the last few years. I have been writing with a co-writer on a side project for the last 6 years and we have recently decided to try working towards getting it published now that we are nearing the end of one of our books.

My issue is this. For the last, probably 3 years, my co-writer has been emotionally checking out when it comes to our work. I have asked her before if she wanted to continue with this project or if she was getting bored with it. I am most passionate about this work and will continue it with out her...Many of these chars I am VERY attached too...however I have been getting very mixed feelings on weather she wants to do this or not. My biggest issue, is that in 3 years, she has put in mere pages of work, while I have been doing the vast majority of it including the story building part.

I am at point where I am ready to go back to do my second draft...and yes she has gone MIA on me...except for a few messages here or there about her ongoing marital problems. I am EXTREMELY patient with her, going on months of nonstop support for her, taking a break from writing and making little mention. All the while I am literally dying from lack of progress....Its not that i don't want to wait for her but its gotten to the point where, if I don't make contact, she doesn't attempt to talk to me. Unfortunately due to recent events that happened with her, I am no longer willing to make time for her, when she does little but kill any creativity I am currently feeling with her up and down attitude.