• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Is there passive voice in either sentence?

I'm learning about passive and active voice. And I don't think I get it yet. So I wrote two random sentences that I don't think are in passive voice or have passive voice in them. Would you just check them for me and tell me?

1) It was a cold, dark day. The weather matched her mood perfectly as she leant her forehead against the frosted window. Her breath fogged up the glass.

2) It was a chilly, shadowy day. The climate harmonized her disposition flawlessly as she leant her forehead adjacent to the ice-covered window. Her gasp fogged up the glass.

arbiter117

Minstrel
I don't see passive voice in the sentences, but I'm no English professor!

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

johnsonjoshuak

Troubadour
As an English major, they are both passive. "It was..." is typically a passive intro and having the verb before the subject makes it sound passive, so I try to remove "was" or "were" from the beginnings of my sentences.

1: The weather matched her mood: cold and dark. She leaned her forehead against the frosted window and a plume of fog formed on the glass from her breath.

2: The clouds hid the sun, creating pools of shadow and a chill in the air. Her disposition match the climate as she leaned her forehead on the ice-covered window. Her gasp fogged up the glass.

Last edited:

PaulineMRoss

Inkling
The classic advice is: if you can add 'by zombies' and it makes perfect grammatical sense, then it's true passive voice. But just because it has 'was' or 'were' in it, doesn't necessarily mean it's passive voice. In the example:

It was a cold, dark day (by zombies). No.
The weather matched her mood perfectly (by zombies)... No.
...as she leant her forehead against the frosted window (by zombies). No.
Her breath fogged up the glass (by zombies). No.

The last three are straightforwatd past tense. Some actual passive voice examples: