• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

An extraterrestrial race saving the Humans of Earth?

Terra Arkay

Minstrel
I'm an amateur writer and I need your opinions...

What do you guys think about an extraterrestrial race saving a large percentage of the Human race and safely transporting them to planets in the deep ends of space far far from the coming darkness? A bit far-fetched? Does this meet the fantasy criteria? I MUST remember that this is a fantasy story... I tried to develop a reason to get my characters off of planet Earth but now looking back at this... it sounds a bit eccentric. If this is a bit eccentric, how can I get my characters off planet Earth?

Sounds sci fi... maybe that's just my opinion though. If you have any well-meaning gods/deities, they could easily do it. I think something similar happened in Dragonlance in the war of souls series. Although that might have been just the gods leaving/ only one coming back. Anyways, back on topic. Gods would be the easiest way to accomplish it, I think. Also, depending on how powerful your mages are or if you have magic, that could be an option.

I see no problem if you create a fantasy/sci-fi hybrid where perhaps the ETs are the peoples' deities and then a huge twist of them being superior beings.

What is the comming darkness? I know Larry Nivnen had quite a few books that had the majority of the stars near the center of the galaxy going super nova all at the same time, the destruction traveling outward, and some alien races finding ways to escape it.

If it is fantasy, I would think it more of moving to another dimension than leaving the planet, although fantasy ships does have some basis (there was a dungeons and dragons expansion for it).

The bigger question is what are they running from, and where are they trying to run too.

lawrence

Troubadour
Hmmm...yes as soon as alien races and interplanetary travel comes in, the story becomes Sci Fi I think ?