• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Holding a full-time job while trying to be a writer

Devora

Sage
As much as i want writing to the full-time job, at this stage, it's not the case. I work as a welder in a factory making aluminum furniture. I clock in for 8 hours and then come home, shower, eat, go to bed. Repeat for instant hell.

I try to find the time to be a writer but i can't seem to find a way, and i want to do something about it. I don't want to give up writing.

Any advice is welcomed.

ThinkerX

Myth Weaver
As with everything else, you have to make time - somehow.

I'm a contractor with USPS. Off at 7 am, back by 2 or 3pm - or later, this time of year. I do a few chores when I get back. Sometimes, I'll write for an hour or so. All to often, I'll sit in the armchair, grab a book (or the Kindle, these days), read a bit, lean back...and then its two hours later. After that I rise and eat and write or surf the web until bedtime.

Svrtnsse

Staff
Article Team
I work 07:00-16:00 five days a week. It takes me half an hour to get to work and another half an hour home again, for a total of ten hours working day. I usually spend less than 8 hours in bed. Add an hour in the morning for getting up and getting ready to go to work, and another hour in the evening for food and chores etc. That's another ten hours for food and sleep. Total twenty hours.

That leaves four hours a day to play around. I'm "fortunate" enough to be single and without a family to care for so I can do whatever I want with my time - usually writing, playing games on the computer, or working out.

I think the last bit there is actually pretty important.