• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Not sure where to go with this...

Aside from the introduction, this will be my first post. I have been creating my own world/universe for many years now, crafting and tweaking it constantly. I never originally intended to want to publish, I enjoy creating for the sake of pure imagination. Now I am a bit of a nerd for history,it was my favorite subject all throughout school and I still enjoy reading historical texts and books. I'm also the kind of person who would rather go on the forgotten realms wiki and read all the articles and pages rather than the actual forgotten realms books. I don't know why, I guess it is just my preference.

So the problem I am faced with is that I have the intention of writing my book not as a single story or tale, but as a complete history book of my universe; telling the progression of civilization and important events through various main characters in time. I relate this to the fantastic Silmarillion by Tolkien.

I have spoken with my friends in my D&D group and they suggested to just make a plot around one character and then through interaction in the world, culture, religions etc. everything can be made known or shown to the reader. Which honestly is something I wouldn't like to do.

What I have created so far is basically starting with the creation of all things and going through centuries and centuries of lore, which in turn leads to the creation of mankind, other races, realms, gods, and so on. With such a vast expansion of time, I feel torn picking just one place and stay there.