• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

How do I describe/write a scene at it's best

Aeryn

Dreamer
Ever since I've began writing, I've noticed a struggle. A struggle that comes forward in Dutch and English.

This struggle is portraying scenes in the best way possible. Really. If you ask me to describe something I'll be like: "Uh... How do I do that?". I just feel a block when it comes to it and can't get past it. The descriptions are always basic. I never describe a whole town or the clothes that a character is wearing (because let's face it. Fashion is not something I'm in to). All I describe is the hair color, their eye color and that's it. Nothing else.
Writing out scenes... Let's not even go there (now I really do sound like a bad and inexperienced writer). I'm no expert, and no beginner anymore (have gained experience over the years). I'm a bit in between :D ! Not bad, but not very good either (maybe I'm too stern for myself).

Describing emotions/movements is something I lack experience of as well. Especially in English (I most of the time use a list with emotions while writing). So my question here would be: How to describe the right emotion at the right place in the story?

In other words, how do I describe/write a scene at it's best :) ?

(I mostly work with thoughts. Thoughts, thoughts and more thoughts. That's why I sometimes prefer first person instead of third person, but would love to gain experience in third person as well :) ! )

Butterfly

Auror
The best advise it think i can give is to write the scene from your character's viewpoint. Use the five senses as much as you can. Sight, Sound, Smell, touch, and taste, and tailor these things to what that specific character would notice, e.g a priest would notice different things in the world around him than a thief.

Malik

Auror