• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

What do they mean, "Make it more personal?"

tbgg

Sage
I am working on my first novel, so I'm new to all the tricks of the trade. Please go easy on me if this is a dumb question. I just posted the first chapter of my WIP in progress on another site to get some feedback. Among the other feedback that I got was to make the chapter ending "more personal", and I'm struggling to understand what that means, especially since I understand the chapter needs to end with a hook to keep the reader engaged. One of the downsides to the site is you can't ask people who give you feedback what they mean.

The action in the first chapter is this: Heroine meets with one of her father's guardsmen, who tells her he and his partner have found the man she asked them to look for and he's dead. She asks to be taken to see the body, they try to talk her out of that, but because she's both the daughter of the second most powerful man in the province and the assistant of the best healer in the province, they reluctantly take her to see it. The body is in a dim grain storeroom at the local mill, it's very dim, but she's able to confirm he's wearing the clothes of the missing man. The face has been beaten and the face can't be seen clearly. She heads back to the Castle to alert the Castle healer that there's a body that can't be positively identified so he can go claim it for a closer look.

The hook? The man appears to be my heroine's secret fiancé.