• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Starting over again, again.

I am a new writer, had my first story idea about a year and a half ago, did nothing for a while then started writing it. I got 10k words in and didn't like it, so chucked it. I started it over again, none of my original story remained but I thought the new was better. I am now 40k words through a first draft with some revision, with a goal of 70-90k. I just donn't like my main character, he has no drive, no reason for living and no redeeming qualities. I love my secondary characters and I really love my antagonist and his accomplice. I have bits of short stories about a few people and they have been liked by the people that have read them, on other forums so not just my friends who really aren't that into my stuff, can tell by their faces when I start talking about writing ideas and stuff.

I know my world pretty much inside and out, what drives people, their culture and struggles, but could always expand more. I know my current story is not working for me, I don't know if I can salvage it or if I should just scrap it and start over again with almost all of the same people and a slightly different starting point.

What about you? What do you do when the story just is not working?

I have had a few people read it and they say for early draft stuff it isn't too bad but that there is a lot there that I am just not tapping. Can easy send it to any of you to read and stuff if it would be worth keeping with. I just don't know which way to go now.

Maybe it isn't the story that is your problem, but perhaps the main character. You say you don't like your main character, which might lead to the entire story growing weaker because of it. If you are having more fun with a certain character, perhaps you should find some method of shifting the focus of the story toward them instead of on the person you don't feel has those qualities you're looking for.

Chilari

Staff