• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

How Do You Handle First Draft Boredom?

wyrmfoe

Acolyte
I've got a story that I'm dying to finish, however I am at the point where I'm looking back at it and seeing the bits that I don't like and I am already thinking of ways to change it. Common wisdom says I finish what I started and then go back to make the changes I want but I have to admit I've lost interest in finishing this draft. Do I power through or just start over at this point?

Scribble

Archmage
As a guy who has multiple unfinished drafts - I say power through. Set deadlines, set quotas, find that trick to push yourself.

I've been working as a software developer for almost 20 years. Some projects take 2 weeks to complete. They are very fun, there's no time to get bored. Some take 6 months. There are stretches where I feel exactly like I do with writing, except since I have nobody expecting anything, I can let it lie. The toughest project I worked on was a 3 year system implementation. There were days where I wanted to cry into my keyboard, I felt physical agony at the very thought of going to a meeting where people were arguing over the same 3 issues, month after month. I didn't quit, I kept at it.

The first version released was buggy, lots of problems. Over the months to come I made improvements, I met with people, understood what they needed, went back and worked on it. Eventually, things ran smoothly.

This is the only parallel I have in my life to make sense of the effort that goes into writing. I am new to it, but I am seeing some of the same patterns I found leading software development projects.

The first version will suck.

The first draft will be a lumpy, awkward, trite, pile of clay that re-writing will transform into something readable. If you abandon it now, you may never come back to it.

Finish it and reward yourself with a vacation from it.