• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Lost My Way

Philip Overby

Staff
Article Team
So, I made a pretty common mistake in that I had a pretty solid outline in my WIP and then, for whatever reason, it wasn't working for me anymore so I veered off the path. Now I've hit a brick wall so to speak. I don't think of it as writer's block, since I'm not having trouble thinking of other scenes and other POVs that I'm currently working on. I'm a pretty linear writer though and I don't like to skip ahead if it's avoidable.

I think I have maybe 3 options:

1. Go back and rewrite the scene where I really started to veer.

2. Delete what I've come up with, make a new mini-outline and follow that.

3. Just write some "placeholder" stuff and come back and change it later.

I have basically two major POV characters in my story and one seems to be trucking along better than the other. Should I just go back to my other stronger POV character and go with him for the time being? Or should I do one of these three options I've listed (or something else)?

It's kind of ironic that I don't believe in writer's block, but I'm having this problem. I think this is more of a "I lost my way" sort of thing, than a block.

If you want your book to be balanced between the POVs, then you really can't ignore one for a significant amount of time until their "boring bits" are through. If balance is not a concern of yours, then by all means do so. I think Sanderson did this effectively in Way of Kings with his "boring" characters (the thief/librarian girl).

On the other hand, is the reason you write linearly a preference or a requirement? If it is a preference, maybe it might help you to get out of your comfort zone so to speak.

Ultimately, everything in a story is "first draft" and on the chopping/reworking block no matter how established it is. If something feels awkward, then you are must fix it at some point. The choice is yours whether this is now or in the future.