• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

How to start the writing part?

D

Dreeparn

I'm kind of new to the whole writing part. I've always wanted to write a book and in the last year and a halv I've put together a world, a story and charachters i really like. My problem is to start writing the story because every time I begin to try to put my ideas and my mental images down on paper i'm always dissatisfied because it's so hard to convey the images i have in my head.

I know what i want to write but I have a really hard time getting it down on paper. I haven't really written that type of text before, only the type of texts you do at school. Is there anyone out there who could give me some solid advice on how to start.

PS. In everything I do i'm kind of a perfectionist, I am pretty bad at realising that something is good enough DS.

Butterfly

Auror
Create a chapter outline so you know where you want it to go, how and where it starts, and how it finishes. Can be broken down further into scene outlines.

Use lists and bullet points of what you want to convey in a given scene. Descriptions, senses, dialogue, exposition, characters. Everything you can think of.

Then structure in a logical order that might work.

Build around the plan and lists.

Allow the first draft to come out of you. It doesn't have to be perfect in every way. You can perfect it later. But you need draft one before anything else.

D

Dreeparn

Create a chapter outline so you know where you want it to go, how and where it starts, and how it finishes. Can be broken down further into scene outlines.

Use lists and bullet points of what you want to convey in a given scene. Descriptions, senses, dialogue, exposition, characters. Everything you can think of.

Then structure in a logical order that might work.

Build around the plan and lists.