• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Personal News Blah Blah Blah NaNo is Cursed

A. E. Lowan

Forum Mom
Leadership
I complain a lot that November is cursed for me. I've been doing NaNo for 9 years and have never completed. Usually I start all fired up and then three days later I come down with pneumonia or something. This year, though, this year November has outdone itself in it's efforts toward my demise.

So... I have some news and some good news. The news isn't bad, it's just not great. I've had some developments while I've been gone that surprised me. About 8 months ago I had a CT scan in the ER and on the edge of it they spotted a mass on my left kidney. They said to check it out but I procrastinated until our insurance improved and then finally got it done last week. Turns out to be cancer.

Now, that's the news. The good news is I'll be fine. It's barely aggressive at all, just a malignant little kitten of a tumor... never mind, I know the little murder floofs. This isn't like that. It's pretty tame. And my doctor is one of three guys in my state who can go in and get it without me losing my kidney, so double win. We should get the surgery scheduled for sometime before January, and then it's one night in the hospital and two weeks to recover.

On a side note, I hate November. I also found out about this the DAY AFTER I had half of my teeth pulled prior to switching to dentures, so yeah, ouch and not much writing this week. But we're sitting at 60K words, so that's good.

Love you guys and hope you're having fun!
2764.png
Don't worry, we're still hard at work on BENEATH A STONE SKY!

Take away - don't screw around with procrastinating about your health and NaNo can be lethal. I got super duper lucky.

Chessie2

Staff
Article Team