• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

App Development

Hi Guys,

I made my first Android app for my website yesterday using the free site Appsgeyser.com. It was pretty cool, although you have to pay Google to become an app developer to actually put your apps on the play network (so this isn't self-promotion since that app isn't available).

Anyway, I have some programming background but no programming programs (other than LaTeX with WinEdt) and am interested in starting to develop games and more apps for my books and worlds.

Recommended programs? Anyone know more? I am probably just going to go this route: Android SDK | Android Developers but I'm going in blind and could use advice.

I learn quickly, so I'm not really worried about doing a language similar to one I know.

Have you guys thought of this with your books/worlds? What type of apps do you think would be good tie-ins?

Telcontar

Staff
I have heard good things about the Android SDK but have no experience with it myself. There is an engine/package called GameMaker that I used to hear a lot about, I'd recommend checking that out.

Furthermore, for all further game-development related questions, I suggest checking out one of my other hangouts: gamedev.com. There are lots of very talented people and some great discussions there.

I have heard good things about the Android SDK but have no experience with it myself. There is an engine/package called GameMaker that I used to hear a lot about, I'd recommend checking that out.

Furthermore, for all further game-development related questions, I suggest checking out one of my other hangouts: gamedev.com. There are lots of very talented people and some great discussions there.

Thanks a lot! GameMaker looks pretty good for testing the waters for games. While looking into it, I found this blog post that has a professional developer analyze its pros and cons if anyone else is considering this.