• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Back to School I Go

Since I have no formal educational background as a writer I decided to take a course. The University of Michigan has a free online creative writing course. You can get a certificate when you finish the course, if you pay a fee, but free works for me.

The course is through Coursera. Its called Write Your First Novel. If you are interested you can enroll here. https://www.coursera.org/learn/write-your-first-novel

The teacher has an approach that I resonate with. He believes that the best way to learn to write is to write. The class material is structured in such a way that by the end of the course the student will have finished their first 50,000 word novel.

Did my first assignment today. Was easier than I thought it would be.

ThinkerX

Myth Weaver
No creative writing classes for me, either. Hardly any 'how to write' books for that matter. And my English grades back in the day were...mediocre.

Just lots of time behind the keyboard. And this little maxim: 'I try to write as entertaining of a story as possible' - which is a rough paraphrase of a quote by a seriously old school 'Great.'

No creative writing classes for me, either. Hardly any 'how to write' books for that matter. And my English grades back in the day were...mediocre.

Just lots of time behind the keyboard. And this little maxim: 'I try to write as entertaining of a story as possible' - which is a rough paraphrase of a quote by a seriously old school 'Great.'

Hey, everybody has got to figure out what works for them. For me this course offers a structure to work within and a chance to be graded by and to grade my fellow students. Hopefully I can encourage and help them along in their journey.

I'm happy and i'm growing. And I fully intend to keep plugging away on my keyboard. it doesn't matter how entertaining my stories are, they won't fly if it aren't well crafted. So I'm honing my craft.