• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

College stuff

Buvanesh

Guys, I have recently joined the forum. I am writing a story similar to harry potter.This is my first story. I have finished the first chapter and I want to hear others opinion about it but it seems that I need to post 5 posts before to increase in rank and post my story for review. But I need your help. Since my story takes place in the university I want you guys to give me an idea about the subjects/course which should be present at the university. I have already thought about a few already but I also welcome your suggestions. Thank you.

CupofJoe

Myth Weaver
The world is wide open for University Courses. I've seen courses on Soundscapes for Film, How to make product packaging, Kite design and strange things like Physics, English Literature and History [nit all at the same time though].

Tom

Istar
I'm majoring in graphic design and minoring in sound tech/electronic music production. I've taken classes like Black & White Photography, Writing in the Humanities, Children's Literature, Women in Literature, Advanced Drawing, Physics of Sound, History of Graphic Design, Western Art History (1 & 2), Astronomy, Illustration, Psychology, Public Speaking, Motion Design, Intro to Sound Recording, and tons more. Pull up the course catalog of a university or two near you and see what they've got going on!

elemtilas

Inkling
Since you liken your story to HP, perhaps consider graduate seminars like Problems in Modern Magic: Thaumic Wave~Particle Theory Applications or perhaps Perspectives on Modern Prescriptivism in the Grammar of Spell Casting or even Advanced Seminar on the Generation of Precision Waveguided Ensorcellments!

D. Gray Warrior

Troubadour
I had a somewhat similar idea, but with the "majors" being based around different kinds of magic like alchemy, divination, shamanism, necromancy, enchantment, etc.

Tom

Istar