• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Fever Dreams

ThinkerX

Myth Weaver
Couple starting points.

I am a USPS contractor in Alaska. In winter, sniffles and colds come with the job. Yesterday, those ailments became worse, turning into a fever. So I took some cold medicine and went to bed early. Strange dreams ensued.

The other starting point is the world of Athas, an AD&D world that was published shortly before I lost interest in that game. What is relevant here is the transition: originally Athas was a world of oceans sailed by Halfling mariners. (the Blue World) Time passed, the oceans receded, immense forests sprouted and new races erected civilizations (the Green Age). Things went wonky. The God's went away. Sorcerers appeared, using spells powered by life energy. Genocidal wars were fought by these mages, turning the forest into desert.

I had several dreams during my lengthy snooze (14 hours) but most are fragmentary at best; driving through a park in Hawaii, a series of dubious meetings with friends and relatives, that sort of thing. But the main dream...

When it started, I was a sailor on a ship traversing a deep blue sea, occasionally calling at ports on green islands. But, I kept having 'flashes.' I'd blink, and just for an instant, I'd see forest or desert instead of waves.

Then, an abrupt discontinuity: I wasn't on a ship, but was one of the drivers for a military style truck (canvas top in the back), part of convoy making our way along a muddy dirt road through dense forest. My companion was an older gent with wild white hair who spoke excitedly about the ocean. A couple times he touched my face, and just for an instant, I was back on the ship. I told him I wanted to see the real thing, not some vision.

'You will,' he said.

The trucks labored up a steep hill. At the summit, we were greeted with a view of a fair sized lake filling most of valley - maybe a few miles each way. 'See,' said the old guy, 'the ocean.'