• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

First-time author

Joe McM

Minstrel
Hi everyone,
As indicated in the subject line, I'm a first-time author, not yet published but going the self-publishing route. My first novel is the first in a series of five. It's a spiritual fantasy with a target audience of young adults. I'm looking for a developmental editor. Are there any threads that cover this? Also, have any of you published via a self-publishing book company, perhaps that offers developmental editing?

I'll explore the other threads to see if there is but I thought I'd ask in my introduction. I've already had the book copyedited and this morning sent it to an artist to design the cover.

I had a blast writing the first book. The editing process, however important, has not been quite as enjoyable. Not surprised though. I came from a documentation department of a software company. So, I'm used to editors.

I hope you are all well.

Joe

pmmg

Myth Weaver
Howdy Joe, Welcome here.

What makes it a spiritual fantasy?

If you are past the copy edit, and looking for a cover, why would you want a developmental edit?

Joe McM

Minstrel
Howdy Joe, Welcome here.

What makes it a spiritual fantasy?

If you are past the copy edit, and looking for a cover, why would you want a developmental edit?
Hi PMMG,

The main character is a spirit healer. Briefly that's someone whose purpose is to help people remember their innate goodness and divine origins. By the way, the main character is six at the start of the novel, and through the course of his journey, learns of his gift.

As to why a developmental edit, I've read various articles and watched a number of youtube videos that advise it. I must admit that I was unsure. So, this morning I sent my manuscript to a friend who is a published author , to see if I need one. But until he does, he suggested that I investigate just in case, including the cost.

Joe

pmmg

Myth Weaver