• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

How many square feet in 49 square miles

4 things right off the bat. 1: No I can't just use an online converter, they all use javascript and won't work on my phone. 2: This is assuming the area being measured is a square with equal sides. 3: I don't want any crap about my scientific pickiness in fantasy, this has little to do with writing and is not in the research section for that reason, I just want some quick math help. 4: I graduated high school with a low D in 7th grade math, so this post may be amusing and/or confusing. So here goes nothing: I need to know how many square feet are in 49 square miles and I keep running into what seems to be an inconsistency. This children's dictionary from the 80s says 1 sq mi=640 acres, 1 acre=160 sq rods, 1 sq rod=10.25 sq yards, and 1 sq yd=9 sq ft. So first I tried 49*640=31,360 acres, 31,360*160=5,017,600 sq rods, 5,017,600*10.25=51,430,400 sq yds, then 51,430,400*9=462,873,600 sq ft. That's just one possible answer I got. (continued in next post)

This dictionary also says 1 mi=5,280 ft, and if I recall correctly, area can be found by multiplying the length by the width of a rectangle. I figure this should mean 49 sq mi perfect square would be 7x7 ft, so then I also tried 7*5,280=36,960 ft and 36,960*36,960=1,366,041,600 sq ft, which is much larger than the first result. So how many square feet are in 49 square miles? 462,873,600? 1,366,041,600? Both in some strange warp of reality I accidentally created? Neither because I don't know what the hell I'm doing? Is there an easier way to convert sq mi to sq ft by hand without 10 different equations?

Nimue

Auror
You just need to find the number of sq ft in a sq mile and multiply that by 49.

5280x5280=27.9 million
49 square miles=1.37 billion square feet.

I'm not sure how you got the other number. Rods and acres may be subject to rounding error.

What are you using this for in your writing, exactly...?